Race 2 Win Race 2 Win
Race 2 Win
Nextel Cup
Busch Series
Photo Gallery
Silly Season
Fire and Ice


News and Results | Point Standings | 2007 Schedule | 2007 Teams | 2006 Schedule and Results

Samsung 500 - Texas Motor Speedway

Jeff Burton Becomes First Repeat Winner at Texas
Jeff Burton passed Matt Kenseth with one lap remaining Sunday to win an unpredictable and super-exciting Samsung 500 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series race at Texas Motor Speedway. With a huge crowd on its feet and his wife Kim biting her nails in his pit box, Burton battled Kenseth in fender-to-fender style for the final 15 laps before slipping past with just one lap remaining. It was Burtonís second victory at the Texas track. He won the inaugural race here back in 1997. Trailing Burton and Kenseth across the finish line was everybody's favorite Mark Martin, who is running an abbreviated schedule this year with the Ginn Racing team after chasing a championship for several decades. The 334-lap event before some 200,000 fans, produced some of the most dramatic moments of the year, including multiple spins by former champion Tony Stewart, an accident that knocked both Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kyle Busch and defending champion Jimmie Johnson from contention. Stewart's first spin resulted from some hard racing contact with Juan Pablo Montoya. The second Stewart spin resulted from Tony trying too hard to make up lost time. Earnhardt slowed for the spin and Busch hit him from the rear. Jeff Gordon, who led the most laps in the race, finished fourth and slapped the wall at least once during the wide-open NASCAR afternoon. Jamie McMurray was fifth and Greg Biffle sixth. Martin Truex Jr. was next and Montoya was eighth. Denny Hamlin raced back from a vibration setback to finish ninth. David Stremme rounded out the top 10. The starting lineup was set by point standings, giving Gordon the top spot. Rain washed out qualifying on Friday here.

Samsung 500 Notes
· Race Results
· Chevrolet Post-Race Quotes
· Ford Post-Race Quotes
· Dodge Post-Race Quotes
· Toyota Post-Race Quotes
· Rookie Post-Race Quotes
· Point Standings
· Owner Point Standings
· WIX Filters Lap Leader Notes
· Final Practice
· Practice 2
· Ford Saturday Quotes
· Chevrolet Saturday Quotes
· Rookie Saturday Quotes
· Starting Lineup
· Toyota Qualifying Quotes
· Practice 1
· Chevrolet Friday Quotes
· Ford Friday Quotes
· Dodge Friday Quotes
· Rookie Friday Quotes
· Qualifying Order
· Entry List
· Weekend Schedule
· Raybestos Rookie Notes
· Team Red Bull Notes
· Scott Wimmer Notes
· John Andretti Notes
· Ward Burton Notes
· Jeremy Mayfield Notes
· David Reutimann Notes
· Ken Schrader Notes
· Jeff Gordon Notes
· Jeff Burton Notes
· Jimmie Johnson Notes
· Matt Kenseth Notes
· Kyle Busch Notes
· Denny Hamlin Notes
· Clint Bowyer Notes
· Tony Stewart Notes
· Carl Edwards Notes
· Kevin Harvick Notes
· Dale Earnhardt Jr. Notes
· Jamie McMurray Notes
· David Stremme Notes
· Elliott Sadler Notes
· Mark Martin Notes
· Juan Pablo Montoya Notes
· Kurt Busch Notes
· J.J. Yeley Notes
· David Ragan Notes
· Ryan Newman Notes
· Greg Biffle Notes
· Reed Sorenson Notes
· Tony Raines Notes
· Joe Nemechek Notes
· Sterling Marlin Notes
· Ricky Rudd Notes
· Jeff Green Notes
· Kyle Petty Notes
· Casey Mears Notes
· Kasey Kahne Notes
· Scott Riggs Notes
· Dave Blaney Notes

Gordon to Start from Texas Pole after Qualifying is Canceled
It is an all-Chevy front row for Sunday's Samsung 500 at Texas Motor Speedway following the cancellation of qualifying due to inclement weather. Jeff Gordon, No. 24 DuPont Monte Carlo SS will start on the pole by virtue of his being the points leader through the first six races of 2007. Jeff Burton, No. 31 Prilosec OTC Monte Carlo SS will start along side Gordon. Jimmie Johnson, No. 48 Lowe's Monte Carlo SS, with line up third while Matt Kenseth, No. 17 DeWalt Ford Fusion, lines up fourth. His Hendrick Motorsports teammate Kyle Busch, No. 5 Cheez-It/CARQUEST Monte Carlo SS will start fifth on the inside of Denny Hamlin, No. 11 FedEx Express Monte Carlo who will be in the sixth starting position.

News and Results | Point Standings | 2007 Schedule | 2007 Teams | 2006 Schedule and Results

©Copyright 2007 Race 2 Win