Race 2 Win Race 2 Win
Race 2 Win
Nextel Cup
Busch Series
Photo Gallery
Silly Season
Fire and Ice

News and Results | Point Standings | 2005 Schedule | 2005 Teams | 2004 Schedule and Results

Dodge Charger 500 - Darlington Raceway

Biffle Tames Darlington, Dominating the Lady in Black at Night
Greg Biffle paid homage to his mother on this Mother’s Day Weekend, winning the inaugural Dodge Charger 500 at Darlington Raceway run under the lights. Although Biffle dominated the event, he needed a late caution and a green-white-checkered finish to retake the lead and hold on to take the checkered flag. Biffle was in charge of the race, leading ten times for a total of 176 of the events 370 laps, and grabbed the bonus points for leading the most laps during the race. But the crew made some adjustments late in the race that did not agree with the car and Biffle faded from the lead. Ryan Newman appeared ready to put his Dodge Charger in victory lane for the Dodge Charger 500 until the caution flag flew at lap 365 for Mark Martin’s spin, sending the event into overtime. Everyone chose to pit except for Newman and Ken Schrader, Carl Edwards took on two tires, so Biffle would start the sprint to the finish in fourth place. Biffle made easy work of the three cars ahead of him and lead the final two laps on his way to a .990-second victory over Jeff Gordon. For Biffle, the win was his sixth series victory in his 88th career start, his third win this season and his first at Darlington. Dating back to last year, Biffle has won four of the last 11 Nextel Cup Series events. Biffle scored the fourth victory for car owner Jack Roush at Darlington Raceway, this was Roush’s 79th victory as a car owner and fifth this season. Jeff Gordon finished in the second position, posting his 16th top-10 finish in 25 races at Darlington, he has scored five top-five finishes in 10 races this season. Kasey Kahne, after starting from the pole, finished in the third spot, while Mark Martin, racing in his last event at Darlington, and Ryan Newman rounded out the top-five positions in the finishing order. Seven of the top-10 positions in the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup point standings changed at Darlington Raceway.

Dodge Charger 500 Notes
· Race Results
· Ford Post-Race Quotes
· Chevrolet Post-Race Quotes
· Dodge Post-Race Quotes
· Rookie Post-Race Quotes
· Point Standings
· Owner Point Standings
· Dodge Saturday Quotes
· Ford Saturday Quotes
· Starting Lineup
· Qualifying Results
· Dodge Qualifying Quotes
· Ford Qualifying Quotes
· Chevrolet Qualifying Quotes
· Final Practice
· Ford Chevrolet Quotes
· Ford Friday Quotes
· Qualifying Order
· Dodge Thursday Quotes
· Entry List
· Race Notes
· Weekend Schedule
· Raybestos Rookie Notes
· Morgan Shepherd Notes
· Shane Hmiel Notes
· Robby Gordon Notes
· Scott Wimmer Notes
· Bobby Labonte Notes
· Ricky Rudd Notes
· Jimmie Johnson Notes
· Kurt Busch Notes
· Jeff Gordon Notes
· Greg Biffle Notes
· Elliott Sadler Notes
· Tony Stewart Notes
· Dale Jarrett Notes
· Kevin Harvick Notes
· Dale Earnhardt Jr. Notes
· Jamie McMurray Notes
· Mark Martin Notes
· Jeremy Mayfield Notes
· Rusty Wallace Notes
· Carl Edwards Notes
· Ryan Newman Notes
· Sterling Marlin Notes
· Jeff Burton Notes
· Scott Riggs Notes
· Casey Mears Notes
· Dave Blaney Notes
· Kasey Kahne Notes
· Matt Kenseth Notes
· Joe Nemechek Notes
· Brian Vickers Notes
· Kyle Busch Notes
· Kyle Petty Notes
· Mike Bliss Notes
· Ken Schrader Notes
· Jeff Green Notes

Kahne Nabs Second Darlington Pole
Sophomore Kasey Kahne won the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series Bud Pole for the Dodge Charger 500 at Darlington Raceway, making a qualifying lap around the 1.366-Mile egg-shaped oval in 28.923 seconds, at an average speed of 170.024 mph. This is Kahne’s fifth career pole position in 46 attempts, his first since Pocono last June and second pole at Darlington Raceway, he also won the Bud Pole here last March. Ryan Newman posted the second-quickest qualifying lap of 29.003 seconds, 169.555 mph – and will put two Dodge Chargers on the front row for the Dodge Charger 500. Newman has started from a top-10 starting position in six of his seven races at Darlington. He is the only driver to post top-10 starts in every race this season. Greg Biffle will start third, posting his third top-10 start in five races at Darlington, it is his eighth top-10 start in 2005. Elliott Sadler will start fourth and Brian Vickers rolls off from the fifth position. The furthermost back that a race winner has started at Darlington was 43rd in the inaugural Southern 500 in 1950 by Johnny Mantz. That race had a 75-car field. Only four other drivers have won at Darlington from a starting position further back than 15th: Herb Thomas (23rd - fall 1954), Bobby Labonte (37th - fall 2000), Ward Burton (37th - fall 2001) and Ricky Craven (31st – spring 2003.)


News and Results | Point Standings | 2005 Schedule | 2005 Teams | 2004 Schedule and Results

©Copyright 2005 Race 2 Win